Saturday, December 4, 2010

Final Report - USODA MIDWINTERS - Team LISOT Dominates

Congrats to a very successful Team LISOT, lead by Head Coach Pepe Bettini, who dominated the challenging and highly competitive USODA Mid-Winters at Southern YC in New Orleans - which this year was also the qualifier for the 2011 international spring regattas.

Jack Parkin and Will Logue were the top two LISOT sailors, in 3rd & 4th respectively, and Audrey Giblin (14th) and KB Knapp (28th) were the top two girls!

Russell Clarida (6th) and World's team member Harry Koeppel (9th) rounded out the 4 top LISOT sailors in the top 10.

Equally strong were many of the 26 sailors on Team LISOT, as our sailors will make up fully one-third of Team USA at the three international spring regattas in 2011 - IODA South Americans; Lake Garda Optimist Meeting, and the Magic Marine Easter Regatta in Braassemermeer, The Netherlands.

As always, sailboat racing on Lake Pontchartrain is not for the faint of heart. After the Race Committee wisely abandoned the 2nd day of racing on Friday due to very rough seas, the final day, Saturday, turned into a great day with 6-12knts out of the NE.

The Harbor Start was early - 8:30 AM - as the RC wanted to get in 5 races. And Head Coach Pepe, and Coaches Panic and Victor had the team prepped, ready and focused as they left the beautiful Southern Yacht Club for a long day on the water.

Conditions for Day 3 were not easy, with plenty of shifts but even more challenging pressure gradients that crossed the course. Many LISOT sailors were dueling it out in the top ten but equally as importantly, many were getting consistently better finishes than Day 1, with many in the first 20.

After the first day of racing, Team LISOT was doing very well. But no one imagined then just how far up the rankings the team ended up.

Continuing the success of LISOT under Head Coach Pepe Bettini, LISOT sailors qualified for 18 spots on Team USA for the international regattas (double the 9 LISOT sailors who qualified last year), including 4 in the top 10 , 7 of the top 20 and the top 2 girls!

Final international teams selections have not been announced, but congratulations to all who made the trip south and enjoyed a classic SYC Thanksgiving!

Final LISOT results:

3. Jack Parkin
4. Will Logue
6. Russell Clarida
9. Harry Koeppel
13. Matthew Kaplan
14. Audrey Giblin (top girl)
16. Ty Ingram
22. Drew Gallagher
25. Jared Gaynes
28. KB Knapp (2nd girl)
33. Adele Whitmyer
34. Augie Dale
37. Sean Walsh
39. Florian Eenkema van Dijk
52. Alexandra DelBello
53. James Westerberg
55. Richie Gordon
58. Clayton Johnson
73. Taylor Gavula
80. Matt Logue
86. Cooper Yeager
108. Henry Fernberger
118. Meg Gerli
129. Charlotte LeClue
136. Emma Kaneti
157. Hailey Ullmann
199. Rhett Ullmann

Full results are posted here.

No comments:

Post a Comment