Sunday, September 20, 2009

LISOT Sweeps 2009 Connecticut State Optimist Champs

Team LISOT dominated the 2009 Connecticut State Optimist Championship last Saturday at Milford YC, taking 1, 2 overall; 1, 2 in red; 2, 3 in blue; and 1, 2, 4 in white fleet. LISOT sailors also won 4 of the 5 races -- Harry Koeppel had two bullets, Drew Gallagher and Megan Grapegeter-Rudnick one each.

Drew won the regatta (and red fleet) and Megan, who finished 2nd overall (and 2nd in Red), was awarded the Connecticut State Championship and Red Fleet State Championship (only CT residents are eligible for the State Championship perpetuals).

Matt Kaplan was 2nd and Jared Gaynes 3rd in Blue Fleet. Jack Parkin won White Fleet, Cooper Yeager was 2nd and Kristen Picard 4th.

Team LISOT's Head Coach Pepe Bettini was pleased with the team's effort, especially many of the younger members of the team -with 3 of the top 5 in White fleet. Pepe had a strong team of coaches with Annie Davidson and Graham Mergenthaler (brother of Olympic 470 sailor Sarah, who crews for frequent LISOT coach, Amanda Clark).

Milford YC put together a 5 race series in mostly light to moderate air, with strong current and flat water, sailed in "the Gulf" just outside Milford YC's harbor.

Team LISOT finishes below.
1. Drew (1st in Red)
2. Megan (2nd Red)
8. Matt (2nd blue)
11. Jared (3rd Blue)
13. Ty Ingram (9th red)
15. Harry Koeppel (10th red)
17. Sean Walsh (7th blue)
18. Jack Parkin (1st White)
21. Caroline Booth (10th blue)
22. Sophia Gould (11 blue)
23. Chris Keller (12 blue)
26. Will Logue (14 blue)
29. Travis Bobley (13 red)
30. Cooper Yeager (2nd white)
42. Kristen Picard (4th white)
47. Jake Schinto (7th white)
48. Charlotte LeClue (25 blue)
53. Matt Logue (28 blue)
59. David Hewitt (32 blue)
64. Henry Harris (34 blue)
65. Julia Reynolds (13 white)
66. Hobi Lew (14 white)
67. Hailey Ullmann (19th red)
70. John Hewitt (36 blue)
71. Teddy Stubbs (16 white)

Full results are posted on the Milford YC website (click here)

No comments:

Post a Comment